Mandala Love: Daisy Yellow’s AJT&T No. 9

imageLast  week I treated myself to a quick trip to the art store & bought myself  a bottle of Dr. Ph Martin’s Bombay India Ink in Turquoise (among other things, ha). I had no immediate plan to use it, but when I saw Tammy Garcia’s latest  Art Journal Tangents & Tactics video (no. 9 in the series), I knew I had to give it a try!

I drew a quick, sketchy, flower-y mandala using my Stabilo water soluble pencil.  I added 2 drops of the ink (oh my goodness, that color is even more delicious & rich in person!) which is super saturated. I spritzed the mandala with water, let the ink “burst” onto the page, grabbed my paintbrush &  let it dance over the page.

I love the way the ink & pencil combined into different shades & the way in which the gradations of color appears like clouds. I cannot wait to play more using this technique as I think the possibilities could be endless! Think I ‘ll be on my way back to the art store soon to pick up a few more colors of that luscious ink!

If you haven’t done so already, go here & give it a try!

 

 

 

One thought on “Mandala Love: Daisy Yellow’s AJT&T No. 9

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you!

