Summer of Color {week 2}

What? Week 2? What happened to Week 1, you ask? Honestly, I felt rushed & I didn’t come up with anything I liked, which has led me to a new philosophy on posting my art. From this point on, I’m still posting it even if I think it’s “ugh”.

Which brings me to this week of Summer of Color, hosted by Kristen at Twinkle Twinkle Like a Star. Week 2’s color combo was Teal, Coral with a splash or pop of white. Let me just say, while I love these colors, man oh man, was it difficult to come up with something without the colors blending to mud (it’s the blue/green of teal when mixed with the red/pink/orange of coral which will definitely turn to mud!)

I am so not thrilled with what I did here, but here it is:
imageActually, this page above was originally painted with dylusions ink sprays in blue & green over a stencil…I didn’t know what to do with that page, so I gesso’ed over it & started with the teal/coral combo lotus flower. It needs more…now that I look at it, maybe some text inside the petals…I think I will continue to work on it.

imageNot my best work here either, but at least it’s a bit more interesting to look at. I painted & scraped & painted & scraped & finally started to see some kind of landscape. I painted in the flowers & then rubbed off some of the paint to give them a grungy kind of look. I also used some corrugated cardboard for the fence. There are certain areas of this which I really like, but that scraped white line through the flowers bugs me everytime I look at it! LOL!

It’s all in the process & lessons learned, though, isn’t it?

Thanks for stopping by! Looking forward to next week’s color theme! For all the juicy deets on this challenge, go here!

 

9 thoughts on “Summer of Color {week 2}

  1. You gave us a lovely two-fer this week. I really like both of them, but I can see where the line through the flowers might bother you. Sometimes you just have to accept these “flopportunities” and enjoy/embrace them. I really think you did a great job.

  2. I really like both of your pieces here! I don’t think the white line through the flowers on your second piece looks bad at all – I actually like it there and think it adds interest! You are very talented and I am so happy that you share your art with all of us during the SOC!

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you!

