If it’s June 1st, it’s ICAD season!

Tammy Garcia at Daisy Yellow has officially kicked off her Index Card a Day Challenge (aka ICAD) for the 4th year in a row. Basically, for the next 61 days, the challenge is to create SOMETHING on an index card (3×5 or 4×6). I cannot tell you how magical this challenge has been for me! This is my 2nd year participating & I look forward to not only creating, but looking at what everyone else creates in the dedicated FB  & FlickR groups. Please visit her gorgeous & incredibly informative site to learn more about it!

Here is my first card for this year’s challenge:

image

(black tempera paint, neon Gelly roll markers, silver Uniball Signo pen on a 3×5 manila Index tabbed card)

Tammy so generously creates optional prompts & themes throughout June & July.  Generally I don’t use the prompts & themes, I prefer to let my mind wander & think up something on my own. But when I saw the list of prompts, number 1, PRISM, jumped out at me & I immediately thought of Pink Floyd. So much fun to make! Cannot wait to make my next one!

My 9 year old daughter also got in on the ICAD action & made the following card:

image(3×5 Index card, gelly roll markers, Gold Uniball Signo pen)

She told me she really wants to participate again this year (she made a handful of cards last year), but, well, you can read her exact words:

“Momma, I am so busy right now, I will only do art on the weekends, but when school ends I might even do 2 a day!”

LOL! We’ll see! No pressure on her, however she wants to do it! 🙂

So…if you want to find out more about the challenge, go here! I HIGHLY recommend it!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “If it’s June 1st, it’s ICAD season!

  1. pink floyd! OF COURSE!!! 🙂 so totally perfect!
    (tho you know that as soon as you posted miss rihanna’s art and words you made yourself merely a fabulous a co-star to her complete AWESOMENESS!!!) ♥♥♥

  2. Love your Icad cards. I really want to start this. Have never participated before. Thank you so much for the beautiful postcard in Ihanna’s DIY post card swap. I haven’t been able to get on word press until now for some reason. Your card is gorgeous.

    1. Hi Sandy! Thank you so much for letting me know you got the card! Glad you liked it! It occurred to me after I sent them all out that I forgot to put my email address on them!! So glad you found me! 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you!

