Lately in my Journal

image

I have been in the middle of many projects in the past couple of months, but with Connie Hozvicka’s  Painting the Feminine workshop winding down this week, looks like I will be able to finish some things that I have already started, but put off for awhile.

The painting above is in my 8×5″ Stillman & Birn journal & is a result of trying something new that I learned in Timssally’s Sunday Mornings group. I have never done anyhting like this before & have never really been drawn (pardon the pun!!) to those faces that I see floating around many sites. But, I decided that I need to practice portraits (something I did a LOT of many years ago). This one is a combination of collage (underneath the face) & acrylics. I loved doing this! It was much easier than I thought it would be & it got me back into actually wanting to try my hand at portraits again (oh my goodness, portraits & hands…so intimidating!). Anyway, I like her & will try more of these soon.

These 3 are done in acrylics & are straight from the Painting the Feminine Workshop:

image

The invitation for the painting above was Healing. I felt really led to using these bright colors & as I was painting I began to see two women hovering over something, almost as if they are nurturing something/someone? That’s the thing I am learning with Connie’s direction in Fearless Painting…just go with what you see & bring it out. It is so therapeutic to paint this way! I really get involved with just the process.image

The painting invitation for this one was Community & I wanted to use the same color pallete as I did with Healing to create a series, but now that I look at them side by side like this, I realize I could have had a heavier hand with the paint! It’s so hard to see the vividness in the 2nd one. Anyway, while I was painting this one, I kept thinking about the group of people that I have in my life (no, not that large of a group as in the painting!!) & the many ways in which we all support each other; they are my community. Also, those spirals appear in my work a lot…I see them representing things that come & go, in & out of my life: good times, bad time, all times.

imageRestahh yes, the ever important rest, that as a mom, is very fleeting! But that is my own fault, as I find myself needing my moments of solitude late into the night. Again, I had no intention of painting a person, yet, I began to see some facial features emerge, so I went with it. I keep going back to this similar color scheme…not sure why, but I find that it is uniting my paintings from this workshop. Last time I took PTF my colors were darker, bolder, & I used many different color palletes (I really have to spell check that word!).  There were many images referencing water & mermaids…not sure why, I haven’t really thought about it too much. It might be time to reflect on the workshops once this week is over. This time around, my work feels a bit more cohesive & grounded, to me at least!

I have also been feeling a shift in my work, an understanding or connection with the paints & the movements of the brush. I think the best thing I can do for myself right now is to keep on painting, everyday. So, if I am a bit quiet here, it’s because I am immersed in my paints!

What have you been working on? I would love to hear about it!

4 thoughts on “Lately in my Journal

  1. I was so tempted by Connie’s class. Love your face. I have not even gotten to Mindy’s class yet. This week! I have been working on Chairperson stuff for the school board. A great role when things are going well at the school, much more demanding when things are challenging.

    The most consistent art practice is my weekly reflection journal and 100 happy days. This week. I am making more effort this week.

    1. Oh, Natasha! I know!! I have too many things going on at once & The Summer of Color challenge starts tomorrow! Plus all of the end of the school year happenings! I am now behind in Mindy’s class. Oh well…I need to be gentle to myself, in time I will catch up!

      1. Summer of Color tomorrow?? How have I missed that. I thought I had a few more weeks!! Where has my time gone? Just watched the first Mindy video.

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you!

