ICAD 2014 – it’s almost time!

  ICAD 31 cards in 31 days

(31 Index cards – halfway through the challenge last year)

Last year I participated in Daisy Yellow’s Index Card a Day challenge for the first time & it was a BLAST!  A small & inexpensive format, I had nothing to fear! No big, blank page staring back at me, expecting so much…nope, just a 3×5 index card,whispering, “Come play with me”. And play I did!  From painting, collage, craypas, Gelly rolls & Sharpies, I documented 61 days of my summer. In essence, those cards became my Summer 2013 diary.

I even brought my cards & markers with me on vacation. Those cards that I did on vacation turned out to be my very favorites as they now serve as great memories to those days. A long car ride to the Grand Canyon is documented by the different types of trees we saw along the way…not in a photo, but in a sketch on an index card… & I remember every moment, like  the songs my daughter & I sang in the car along the way (“Mirror” by Justin Timberlake, “Safe & Sound” by Capital Cities, to name just a couple!)…art has the power to do that – evoke memories & feelings.

image

(Index card, black tempera paint, gelly roll pens)

So, if you haven’t already done so, go to the Daisy Yellow site to find out all the details, then join the Daisy Yellow Facebook group &the Daisy Yellow Index Card a Day 2014 Facebook group, hosted by the ever talented, generous art soul, Tammy Garcia. You will be so glad you did! And here’s the thing…it’s free! No registration or anything, just join the Facebook groups! The ICAD party starts June 1st! Hope to see you there!

5 thoughts on “ICAD 2014 – it’s almost time!

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you!

