7 Day Creativity Challenge – Part 1

As I mentioned in this post, I found the 7 Day Creativity Challenge & jumped right in.  I like these little challenges as they help me to keep myself on the art track. I have a lot of bigger projects on my list, but there are some days when one quick little challenge is all I need for the day (especially when time is of the essence, as it has been a bit crazy here the last 2 weeks or so).

Here are my first 4 days of the challenge:

Day 1:  Visually document your word

(you can read more about this particular journal spread here)

Altered book, acrylics, oil pastel

 Day 2: Creative Dream List

I know this will evolve as time goes on, but so far, these are the creative projects/thoughts on my “Creative Dream List”. I have completed some of them already, many will be continuous works in progress. It is definitely enough to keep me busy, but I still manage to get distracted by all kinds of new ideas! Not such a bad thing to get distracted by though, right?

Dream list

Day 3:  Recharge My Creative Space

I live in an apartment in the heart of Manhattan, space is tight! While it is a very nice size for our family, there really is no room for studio type space. My work space is my dining room table & more often than not things spill over (literally!) to the floor, the surrounding chairs, the window sill. I tend to save every interesting “scrap” which makes for too much “spilling over”. So, this was a welcomed challenge. On the left is the “before”,  my covered table…on the right, my “after”, a neatened up stacked pile. I got rid of MANY of those interesting scraps! 🙂 I did have a more drastic “before” pic, but accidentally deleted it from my phone. Tust me, I still have a way to go!!

image image

 Day 4: Beginnings

Here are the beginnings of my post cards for iHanna’s DIY postcard swap.  This is my 2nd time participating in the swap & like the first time, I have no plan re: my cards. I never know where they will end up & that is what I adore about this process. As you can see from these 2 photos, I clearly have 2 disctinct groups of cards in their beginning stages. We’ll see how they turn out!

imageimage

And there is part 1 of this very fun, very do-able creative challenge! Will post part 2 shortly!

Now…back to those post cards!

2 thoughts on “7 Day Creativity Challenge – Part 1

  1. I love that you are doing this. I found it so doable.

    I love your list. Consider Connie’s BIG class. I found it really art changing. Also it helps you paint bigger because it forces you to!! 🙂

    Oh…art class free…how I get that. I signed up to more than a few and i noticed that 2 expired without me doing them. Honestly i don’t have money to burn!! So no more until I finish what i have going on.

    Besides watching others do art does not count as me doing art.

    Read the new Austin Kleon work as well on showing your art. Just started that last night and i have made so many notes. I have a blog section in my organiser!! (Like a grown up!)

I would love to hear your thoughts! Thank you!

